Bank "Broker" Exceptions: What the SEC Reference Page Lists
The SEC's page on banks and other depository institutions points to final rules, a staff compliance guide and a Regulation R small-entity guide for bank broker exceptions.
The useful answer first: the Securities and Exchange Commission page titled "Banks and Other Depository Institutions" is a reference hub, not a single rule. It lists materials on when banks fall outside the Exchange Act's "broker" definition, including final rule releases under the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, a staff compliance guide on dealer exceptions, and a small entity guide to Regulation R. For a reader checking whether a bank-affiliated product or account touches the broker definition, this page is a starting index to those documents rather than a statement of eligibility itself.
What the page actually lists
The citations on the page are title fragments, and several are cut off mid-sentence. One entry refers to agencies adopting final rules to implement the bank "broker" provisions of the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, identified as Press Release No. — with the number itself not included in the text provided. Two more entries are final rule releases on definitions, terms and exemptions relating to the "broker" exceptions for banks, and on exemptions for banks under Section 3(a)(5) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 and related rules.
The remaining entries are guidance rather than rulemaking. One is a staff compliance guide to banks on dealer statutory exceptions and rules. The last is a Regulation R small entity compliance guide covering exceptions for banks from the broker definition under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934.
Announcement, rule and guidance are different things
The titles mix several kinds of material, and the difference matters to anyone deciding how much weight to give each item.
- Press release: an announcement that agencies adopted final rules. It signals action, not the operative text.
- Final rule releases: the two releases listed on definitions, terms, exemptions and Section 3(a)(5) exemptions are the substantive rulemaking items in the list.
- Staff compliance guide: a staff document explaining how banks can approach the dealer statutory exceptions and rules. Guidance of this kind is explanatory.
- Small entity compliance guide: a Regulation R guide aimed at smaller entities, again explanatory rather than a new rule.
Nothing in the claims describes a proposal stage, an approval date for each item, or an implementation timetable. A reader should not read the list as a chronological compliance calendar.
A comparison that helps
Two of the entries are about the broker definition; one is about dealer exceptions; one is a broader exemption provision. Keeping them apart avoids a common mix-up.
| Listed item | Focus | Type |
|---|---|---|
| Agencies adopt final rules on bank "broker" provisions | Broker provisions of the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act | Press release |
| Definitions of terms and exemptions for the "broker" exceptions for banks | Definitions and exemptions | Final rule release |
| Exemptions for banks under Section 3(a)(5) and related rules | Statutory exemptions | Final rule release |
| Staff compliance guide on dealer statutory exceptions and rules | Dealer exceptions | Staff guidance |
| Regulation R small entity compliance guide | Broker exceptions for banks | Small entity guide |
The practical takeaway: if a question is about banks acting as brokers, the Regulation R and definitions entries are the closest fit. If it is about dealer status, the staff compliance guide is the relevant item on this list.
Worked example for a reader checking a bank product
Suppose a reader wants to know whether a deposit account bundled with an investment feature falls within a bank exception. Hypothetical: the reader is reviewing a bank-affiliated offering and has three documents from this page to consult. That is a reading exercise, not a determination.
The sequence that follows from the page's structure is: first read the definitions and exemptions final rule release to see how the terms are framed; then read the Regulation R small entity guide for the broker exceptions; then, only if the activity looks like dealing rather than brokering, read the staff compliance guide on dealer exceptions. The Section 3(a)(5) release is a separate exemption track and should be checked against the specific activity.
Hypothetical: if three of the five listed items turn out to be guidance rather than rule text, two remain as the primary rulemaking references. The page does not state that split; it is an observation from reading the titles.
Checklist before relying on the list
- Confirm whether the item you are reading is a release, a press release or a guide.
- Check the full title, since several entries in the text provided are truncated.
- Match the item to the specific status question: broker, dealer, or Section 3(a)(5) exemption.
- Do not assume a date order or an effective date from the list alone.
- Treat any eligibility conclusion as requiring the actual document text.
What the source does not say
The page as captured does not provide complete titles or numbers for the cited releases, and it does not state effective dates, compliance deadlines, or which entities qualify. It does not define the broker or dealer exceptions in substance, does not describe any crypto-asset treatment, and does not say how state rules interact with the federal framework. It also does not indicate whether any listed item has been amended or superseded.
Nothing in the supplied material supports a conclusion about a specific bank, account or product. Readers should treat this as an index of documents to read, not as a determination of status.
Sources
Informational only. Not financial, legal or investment advice. Check the primary sources listed above before you act on anything here.