Where to Verify a Provider's Stated MSB Registration
How to check a crypto provider's claimed MSB registration using FinCEN's own framework: who must register, what the form is, and what the page does not confirm.
The useful answer is narrower than most provider pages suggest. FinCEN's MSB registration guidance tells you which businesses must register, what form they file, and how long they keep records — but the source page does not provide a lookup tool or confirm any individual company's status. Verification therefore starts with understanding the registration framework, then checking the specific claims a provider makes against it.
What the source actually establishes
FinCEN states that, with few exceptions, each money services business (MSB) must register with the Department of the Treasury (c04). The obligation sits with the owner or controlling person, not with customers, and registration must be filed by the applicable deadline (c06). A person who owns or controls an MSB is responsible for registering the business (c15).
The filing itself is FinCEN Form 107, "Registration of Money Services Business," which must be completed and signed by the owner or controlling person and filed within 180 days after the MSB is established (c07). Registration must be renewed every two years (c08), and re-registration is required in limited circumstances (c09).
Three things a provider statement should match
When a crypto platform says it is "registered," a reader can reasonably test that statement against the source's own categories. These are the checkpoints worth separating:
- Who registered. Registration is the responsibility of the owner or controlling person (c06). If several people own or control the business, they may agree to designate one of them to file (c16), but the failure of that designated person does not relieve the others of liability (c17).
- Whether the entity is exempt as an agent. A person who is an MSB solely because they serve as an agent of another MSB is not required to register (c05). An agent relationship is therefore a legitimate reason a name may not appear as its own registrant — but it is a specific legal posture, not a general excuse.
- Renewal timing. Because registration renews every two years (c08), a registration that was accurate at one point may not describe current status.
What recordkeeping tells you about verification
A copy of the filed registration form and other supporting documentation must be retained at a location in the United States for five years (c10). For a reader, this is a useful signal about what the business itself should be able to produce. It also clarifies that the registration is a filing obligation with retained paper evidence, not a public badge.
Consequences are stated plainly: civil and criminal penalties may be imposed for violating the registration requirement (c11). That framing matters when reading marketing language, because it means registration is a legal duty rather than a certification of service quality or consumer protection.
A worked example (Hypothetical)
Suppose a platform states it has been "FinCEN-registered since 2019." Using only the rules above, the questions to ask are: Hypothetical — was the filing made within 180 days of establishment, consistent with c07? Has it been renewed in each two-year cycle since, consistent with c08? Is the registering entity the owner or controlling person, or a designated filer under an agreement described in c16? If the name does not appear as a registrant, is the explanation that it operates solely as an agent of another MSB under c05?
None of these questions can be resolved by the source page alone. They are the right questions, not the answer.
Filing channel and status
The page carries a notice that on February 24, 2012, FinCEN issued a final notice requiring electronic filing of most FinCEN reports by July 1, 2012 (c01). Institutions are strongly encouraged to begin using the BSA E-Filing System as soon as possible (c02), and the page points to FAQs for mandatory e-filing (c03). A separate heading announces electronic filing for MSB registrations (c12).
Note the distinction between announcement and availability. These lines describe a filing channel and a deadline history; they do not state that any register is searchable by the public, and they do not verify a company's current standing.
A short verification checklist
- Identify the exact legal entity named by the provider and whether it is described as owner, controlling person, designated filer, or agent.
- Ask when the entity was established and whether the filing fell within the 180-day window (c07).
- Ask for the most recent two-year renewal date (c08).
- Ask whether any re-registration event applies (c09).
- Ask whether the U.S.-retained copy of the filed form is available for review (c10).
The source also notes that the guidance clarifies general issues under 31 CFR Chapter X and does not replace or supersede the regulations (c13, c14). Treat provider summaries of registration the same way: a summary is not the filing.
What the source does not say
- It does not provide a public database, lookup page, or search tool for checking a specific company.
- It does not confirm the registration status of any named crypto provider.
- It does not state that registration implies licensing, solvency, or consumer protection.
- It does not specify state-level registration requirements, which vary.
- It does not describe how a member of the public can obtain a copy of a filed Form 107.
The practical takeaway: use FinCEN's framework to test whether a provider's registration claim is phrased precisely — entity, role, dates, renewal — and treat any claim that cannot be tied to those specifics as unconfirmed rather than settled.
Sources
Informational only. Not financial, legal or investment advice. Check the primary sources listed above before you act on anything here.